Blue Green Knit Dress

20160131_154622(0)

So I finished my dress and got a chance to wear it yesterday. I am pleased with it but may tweak it a little before I consider it done. I had fun sewing this on my new serger. Woah,  I should have bought one years ago, what a huge time saver. It makes sewing knits soo much easier. I only used my regular machine for the hems and the basted gathering stitches.

The pattern is M 9116 which is a reissue  of Butterick 5870. Here’s a shot of the pattern envelope 20160130_145845

I made view A.

Pattern notes

Sewed a size 12 with a FBA.

I lengthen the front and back bodice by 1″, I think I may serge this off as the waistline seems a little low on me.

I used the straight hem skirt from view B, omitting the high low of view A

Sewed the hems using a twin needle and wooly nylon in the bobbin which helps keep them stretchy.

Conclusion

I love it. If I make it again I might raise the neckline, it’s a little low.

Side view

20160131_154635

Back view

20160131_154658

 

4 thoughts on “Blue Green Knit Dress

Leave a Reply

