Mens Peacoat

I am currently working on a mens pea coat for my son.  I was inspired by this great blog.

I have been doing lots of research because I want to use tailoring techniques in the coat.  This will be a first for me. I have never tailored a coat before.  It shaping up to be a big project.  So far I have gathered my materials and made a first muslin.  I will be using this pattern It’s from this book.  It’s really just for the pattern as all the instructions are in Japanese. Beautiful coats though!!

I will be using this book to help me with the tailoring.

Here’s a list of my supplies.

  • 3 yards Bemberg Ambiance lining Joanns ( available online at fashion fabrics club)
  • 1 yard hair canvas-available here  (great tailoring resource!)
  • 1 yard wigan (see hair canvas link  for source)
  • 1 yard Burberry plaid twill  (for the lining upper back and pockets)

I was able to source some of my supplies locally but I wanted to included online sources here for any readers who might not live near good sewing stores.  Where I live it’s mostly just Joann’s fabrics which is not the best- but they did have the bemberg, and the wool felt for the undercollar as well as threads needles, wax etc.  I also have a small local independent shop that had hair canvas and shoulder pads as well as silk organza (for the pocket welt facing).

Some online resources for coat sewing

6 thoughts on “Mens Peacoat

Leave a Reply

