New Look 6780

Here’s a finished top from my wardrobe plan.  I am sewing along happily and have completed 4.5 items.  This top is an altered version of NL 6780 view D.  Changes I made were to make the band 1 inch wider and to lengthen the sleeve ruffles.  I also eliminated the raglan seam to simplify sewing.  The fabric is a dark purple rayon jersey.  I am pretty happy with this.  I like the shape of the top and it is comfortable.  The front gathers were very tricky, this fabric is very difficult to gather nicely.  I redid the neckline 3 times and I could almost do it again but I need to be done and move on.  I tried a new hemming technique on this.  I used a stretch fusible interfacing that is precut to 1/2 inch width.  I ironed that around the hem and then turned it up 1 inch.  Then I topstitched close to that edge and  it turned out nice.  This picture shows the color a bit truer.

Leave a Reply

