A Summer Blouse and a Bag

 

This is New Look 6807 I made this blouse as a gift for my mom.  Last year I made this pattern for her as a birthday present.  Last week she called to request another version in white to round out her summer wardrobe.  The pattern is written for knits but I used a woven because I couldn’t find a nice white knit with the drape I wanted, that wasn’t also see through.  The fabric is a cotton rayon with a lovely sheen, almost like silk.  Its very beautiful up close.  I think it turned out nice, hopefully it will fit her .  This pattern is rather loose and drapey even in a knit.  One alteration I made was to add a bit more drape at CF bottom by rotating it from the neckline down, creating a large triangle from the hem to neck at the center fold.  This adds more fabric in the front and makes the top fuller there.  The only other change I made was to eliminate the center back slit and tie, the neckline is plenty big enough to just slip over your head.

 

I also made a summer bag! Yay, I really like it.  I used it all this week.  The pattern is a free pattern from the Burdastyle website.  It came out good.  I was inspired by this bag made by Wiksten. If I were making it again I would use interfacing in the handles.  Also I used a lightweight quilting cotton for the bag and I wish it had a heavier lining to make it sturdier. While I like the size I think it would look cute even twice this size. Maybe I will make another one! 

Up next M5388 in white with lace view D.  After sewing my mom’s top, I wanted a white summer blouse.

2 thoughts on “A Summer Blouse and a Bag

    • The pattern calls for knits only, but I was successful with a woven fabric. Get something with a good drape though, the front gathers won’t look good if its too stiff. Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

