Summer Top from Weekend Sewing

This is the Trapeze Dress shortened and altered heavily from the book Weekend Sewing by Heather Ross.  I was inspired by this entry in her  WS Design Challenge.  I like it, its comfortable and fits pretty good. It’s not quite what I envisioned though.  I used quilting cottons and I think it would be better in something lighter like lawn or batiste.  Its too stiff, it would be much prettier in something drapey.  I altered the pattern by shortening it ( from a dress) and adding a lower band.  I also cut a slit in center front and added a placket and 2 covered buttons.

Up next:

My sister is getting married in September and I am sewing the bridesmaid dresses.  Isn’t this a great pattern? Its vintage 2001, (I know thats not that old, but it is OOP) I got it from  Lanetz Living  (awesome site)  I am going to use a teal silk from Thai Silks, but  first I am going to make a pre-bridesmaid dress (view A) for practice out of some lavender linen (shown) from my stash.  Bye for now, time to get sewing.

One thought on “Summer Top from Weekend Sewing

Leave a Reply

