I finished a skirt!

100_1037

This is McCalls 5375 (now OOP), hooray its finished.  This was to be part of the wardrobe mini-swap that’s going on over at Pattern Review, but I didn’t get the other things finished in order to actually enter. Oh well, I am really happy with how it turned out. This is the third time I  have made this pattern and I think its a TNT (tried and true ) for me.

Good things:

  • It fits great!
  • I love the dark brown  top stitching (I used upholstery thread and a top stitching needle) 
  • the cute pockets with button detail

Things I would change next time

  • Forgot to interface the waistband and pocket flaps, would have been good as the are prone to wrinkle
  • Find better source for twill fabric, got this at Joannes and it was listed as wrinkle free, but it does wrinkle a lot!

Wore it to a BBQ last night and got compliments.  Yay for summer.

Parting shot: my garden looks awesome in early morning light, a poppy bloom.

.100_1042

3 thoughts on “I finished a skirt!

  1. Pingback: Planning « Sweet Creek Sewing

Leave a Reply

