Little White Dress

Whitedress beachcasualwhite dresseveningwhitedressHooray for my finished dress!
Well I am very happy with it. Here’s my review from pattern review.  If you are a member feel free to vote for my entry!  If not, you should join, pattern review is awesome and a great resource for all things sewing related.

Pattern Description: A fabulously easy dress that is a great basic with some nice design details and a beautiful neckline. The easy design allows easy design and fitting adaptations. Try to replace the front and back tuck with a princess seam if you would like a more fitted look and eliminate the pockets for a less sporty and more simplistic and sleek version.

Pattern Sizing: 34-46, I made the 42

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes but I changed the skirt to a circle skirt.

Were the instructions easy to follow? i didn’t really use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The fit, this bodice fit me perfectly as drafted with no alterations necessary. I liked the neckline and he midriff band.

Fabric Used: White cotton eyelet. Fully lined in white cotton batiste.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Many they are as follows
1. lengthened the midriff band about 3 inches
2. lowered the back neckline to make it more summer friendly
3. changed the skirt given to a circle skirt, self drafted from this tutorial Click Here

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes great pattern so well drafted, and the circle skirt tutorial on the by hand London site is great also!

Conclusion: This is my entry for the Little White Dress Contest. The first photo is my beach styling shot, next I styled my LWD for school and errands, last up is my evening look!
I have made a little deal with myself to sew only free patterns this year to keep sewing costs down and to explore all the awesome free sewing patterns out there. So I decided to enter the LWD contest and put my resolve to the test. I even have a pinterest board with free pattern links on it, free pattern board. So far I am pleased, this pattern was great. I almost always have to alter patterns with the big 4, but did not here. I love the fit and my new dress seems quite versatile. I have already thought of many more ways to wear it!
You see my planning board Click Here on my blog.

2 thoughts on “Little White Dress

  1. Pingback: Gingham Inspiration | Sweet Creek Sewing

Leave a Reply

